Clarinette's Cook

Cooking Management

Lamb Stew with Apple and Pumpkin

Autumn by Deb Dobson

Autumn by Deb Dobson

Autumn is definitely there with its lovely colours and cold winds.
Time for warm dishes to fill in with vitamins for the winter.

My new recipe is a slow cooking lamb shoulder, our garden apples and pumpkin from the halloween school Trunk or Treat night.
I love cooking with what I have available and not from shopping list.

The advantage of slow cooking is to allow all the savour to ‘develop’ and being kept. The meat becomes super tender and get detached with a spoon. I cook in a Le Creuset heavy cast iron on induction hub in very slow temperature for 8 hours. I cooked the lamb with our garden apples yesterday.

Wash the lamb, take all excess fat off, shop one big onion, fry the onion in vegetable oil – I use seeds oil – just enough to become transparent. Then add the washed and dried meat to fry each side. turn few times(10′ in total)
Add few cloves or garlic, salt, pepper, cinnamon, bay leaves and cover with cider, pear beer or champagne. let cook in low temperature for few hours. You can also put the dish if it can, to the oven.

The next day, I added some pieces of pumpkin into the stew. Separately, I added few pieces of pumpkin to fry in olive oil. The reason is the vitamins are better preserved when not fried. The taste is better when fried. You can choose which ever you prefer. I decided to do both. If you like it more sweet and sour, you can add brown sugar and lemon. My apples are acid. If you choose less acid apples, you might want to add more lemon/lime.


Add the fried pumpkins into the stew

Served with Basmati rice this is a delicious meal, low cost and extremely healthy. Very convenient when you have guests as all is prepared in advanced. just heat and bring on the table.

Let me know what you think and what are your favourite dishes to get recipes or to share with our readers.

I am planning to have cooking cessions at my house to do the live demonstrations and share the meals with friends to raise funds for FlyAKite.org an initiative I have launched for online education. We want everyone to access safely the world of digital knowledge. If you are in London area, do contact me.
Meantime, keep warm !

Paul Verlaine,
Chanson d’automne

Les sanglots longs
Des violons
De l’automne
Blessent mon coeur
D’une langueur
Monotone.

Tout suffocant
Et blême, quand
Sonne l’heure,
Je me souviens
Des jours anciens
Et je pleure

Et je m’en vais
Au vent mauvais
Qui m’emporte
Deçà, delà,
Pareil à la
Feuille morte.

Leave a Reply

