Clarinette's Cook

Cooking Management

Sushi from New York to Japanese plates from Australia

Manhattan from Weehawken/New Jersey


If you had teens like me, you would know what a grey week end can look like. My idea of how to bring them out of bed and keep their fingers away from the keyboard: making sushi.

One of our best places we had sushi is New York. Yeap, New York City offers a wide variety of food and the best I had, or one of the two best I had, is sushi. I was once at the Lincoln Jazz Center in New York for a conference by myself. I had booked a room at the Sheraton Manhattan Times Square for convenience. The hotel standard was rather disappointing especially by its lack of cleanliness, The lobby looked more like a train station hall but the location was very good at the north of Broadway and close to the tube station. My favorite place for food shopping in NYCT is the Whole Food at the Time Warner Center and this is where I had the best sushi at the bar. At the next trip with family, I took them there and they still mention the yummy taste and clean atmosphere which is not always easy to find in NYCT.
This time, we stayed at the Sheraton Lincoln Harbor NJ, a much better choice with the family suite and easy connection to Manhattan by ferry.

From the number of sushi shop around the world, it is easy to guess how they have become popular. I used to go to one of the first Japanese restaurants in Paris when I was student. I love their Yakitoris, it’s a small crowded restaurant, in Saint-Germain des Pres, just behind la rue de Rennes, next to rue des Sabauds de Bernard.
Sushi are known to be healthy and yummy. I personally start to doubt there could be so many good quality and fresh fish to make good quality ‘supermarket’ sushi. Raw fish can be nasty if not absolutely fresh.

Today, my Saturday morning distraction from electronics was sushi making. It’s much easier than you might think. I have in my cupboard a big section dedicated to Asian ingredients. I do my shopping at Korea Food, a big supermarket in the neighborhood town of New Malden. All is written in Asian. I can only try to guess what it could be. Anyway, I love trying new stuff.

I first cook the sushi rice in a rice cooker.
Uncooked rice 3000g
  Water 3000cc
  Rice vinegar 360cc
  Sugar 160 g
  Salt 100 g
1. Wash the rice thoroughly but don’t wash it so forcefully that the rice grains crack. Do not wash the rice in hot water and never use soap. Next, rinse the rice with water. Repeat the process about 3 times.
2. Soak the rice in water for 30 minutes to one hour before cooking.
3. Cook the rice. While the rice is cooking, combine the vinegar, sugar, and salt in a separate bowl.
4. When the rice is done, let it stand for about 15 minutes.
5- add the rice vinegar mixed with sugar and salt, then take sushi seaveed to place on a bamboo mat, Makisu, to roll the sushi in.

Best is to follow the instructions for sushi recipe.

As I had no time to go to New Malden, we made ours with a Tesco salmon (a special 1 kilo filet for 10£). I preferred to cu the salmon in slice and fry them in olive oil. We made the sushi with red pepper, cucumber and avocado.
Here is the result:
sushi
served with miso soup, and my favorite green tea from Food Hall, Richi tea Genmaicha Golden Infusion with a toast aroma and nutty flavor (I prepare my tea on a tea pot I leave on my German tea candle under the English tea cover).
Here are my ingredients:

Next step and not the least, dressing the table. I am very proud of my Japanese plates found at TKMax. I broke one mug and guess where I found replacement: in a small shop in the middle of the Blue Mountain in Australia, isn’t the global market interesting?

Next time you are in New York, try the sushi bar and if you can the Chart House Sea Food restaurant in Weehawken NJ It has a breath taking view of Manhattan, especially with the lights in the evening.
Also, when you go to the Time Warner Center, opposite Central Park, don’t forget to go at the conference center to take beautiful pictures.Time Warner Centre.

View of New York City

  • Posted in: Uncategorized

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Buñuelos de viento and Never get enough sushi « Clarinette's Cook

    Leave a Reply

